AVTC History

For more than 25 years, the U.S. Department of Energy has sponsored AVTCs in partnership with the North American auto industry. Managed by Argonne National Laboratory, AVTCs represent a unique coalition of government, industry and academic partners who join forces to explore sustainable vehicle solutions. DOE sponsors these competitions to educate the next generation of automotive engineers and accelerate the development and demonstration of technologies of interest to the DOE and the automotive industry.

What is the Goal?

Stimulate the development of advanced propulsion and alternative fuel technologies and provide the training ground for the next generation of automotive engineers.


Kristen De La Rosa
Director, AVTCs
Center for Transportation Reseearch
Argonne National Laboratory

Celebrate 25 Year of AVTCs! 

Interested in sponsoring EcoCAR 2 or the next AVTC series? Contact Kristen De La Rosa at

learn more about avtcs & alumni

The Next AVTC Series: EcoCAR 3

The new four-year competition, EcoCAR 3, will build upon the 25-year history of the U.S. Department of Energy AVTCs and seeks to develop the next generation of automotive engineers with unparalleled experience designing, promoting, and building leading-edge automotive technologies. The goal is to minimize the environmental impact of personal transportation and illustrating pathways to sustainable transportation with various levels of vehicle electrifications, such as Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVs). Argonne National Laboratory, a U.S. DOE research and development facility, will retain the management and operational responsibilities of the AVTC series, and the series will be co-headline sponsored by General Motors.

EcoCAR 3 Team & Vehicle Platform Announcement!

On April 24, 2014, representatives from the U.S. Department of Energy and General Motors will officially launch EcoCAR 3 in Washington, D.C. During the announcement, both the participating schools and vehicle platform will be announced to the public.  

Watch the announcement LIVE via the YouTube video stream below. The announcement will begin at about 7:00 PM ET on April 24.